Video Recording Comes To The Palm Pre With Precorder

So today I wake up and pull up my rss reader to find a post on Precentral.net about using an application called Precorder to record video right from my Palm Pre!!!!  Now all I could say to that was SWEET!!!!!

Precorder has been developed to bridge the gap between the current revision of WebOS and a future release that will enable video recording. It is capable of recording in multiple combinations of audio and video and includes support for using the built-in LED for lumination while recording in dark areas. Video recorded with Precorder is viewable through Palms built in video application.

So after loading all that I needed I recorded my first video and here it is…..

First 12second video on my palm pre (in landscape) on 12seconds.tv

Now how can you get video setup on your Pre? Well first remember this is in Alpha so it is still buggy, needs tweaks, and not fully tested so things CAN go wrong…so make sure you are aware of that.

Once you have accepted that you will need to install via WebOS quick install (not available in the app store or via something like preware (yet)).  You just have to grab the two IPK files from the apps wiki page.  Install and if all works out after that you are good to go!!!

precorder1 precorder2

As you can see above you have your card that allows you to start recording (stays that way through recording…no visual of what you are recording at this time in the alpha) and a card with your settings like selecting you audio type (mp3, aac, ect), video type (mpeg 4, h.264, ect) and if you wanna use the flash for dark shots.

Like I stated in the video this is an early alpha release so there are bugs, things can happen, and features are missing but it is working and recording video so at this point that is a huge plus.  I look forward to seeing it take shape with future releases and I will be testing and posting more video to see how I can get the best results.

I just have to say I love the homebrew community!!!

note : if you have any questions on this feel free to contact me via email or shoot me a message on twitter…would love to help you out.

  1. Video Recording Comes To The Palm Pre With Precorder http://ff.im/-bXQ9s
    This comment was originally posted on Twitter

  2. Video Recording Comes To The Palm Pre With Precorder | (jeff …: So today I wake up and pull up my rss reader .. http://bit.ly/8VSRB4
    This comment was originally posted on Twitter

  3. Video Recording Comes To The Palm Pre With Precorder | (jeff … http://bit.ly/6lfJny
    This comment was originally posted on Twitter




Leave a Reply

