Contxts : Cause Business Cards Are So Yesterday

As I have started going to more and more tech conferences I have watched everyone hand out their business cards with their contact information and I have to say some of them are really kool (i.e. moo cards) but I always thought wouldnt it be kool to have a way to send my information that would be on my card via my phone in real time? not have to purchase new cards all the time? know that that person is just not gonna toss my card and never see it again?

If you are thinking like me the Contxts is the service for you. With Contxts you use your phone to send your contact information straight from your phone to whoever you are conversing with or others can text to the service and get your contact information at anytime. Some of the benefits of Contxts would be….

– Exchange all of your professional information with a single text message
– Keep all of your professional contacts organized in one place
– It’s eco-friendly (txt messages don’t kill polar bears)
– Rid yourself of “old school” business cards
– Link with other professionals

How does contxts work?  Well there are two ways you can use the service via sms text message

From your phone, you txt “send 3034759204” to 50500 (where 3034759204 is your recipients 10 digit number)
Your recipient will receive all of your contact information.

Your contact txts “username” to 50500 on their phone
You will receive a request confirmation (unless you have it turned off). Upon accepting, your contact will   receive your information

To try out Contxts text ‘jeffisageek’ to 50500 and you will get my information.

  1. Brilliant little service! It's worth a try.

  2. I like the concept of of contxts and will give them a spin because of your post. A physical card can be part of the tangible exchange of personality as well. I've used eco-friendly (polar bear approved) cards with natural inks for awhile now. After a day of meeting people, the process of scanning through the cards reminds me of the encounter. If the card is inspiring by design I tend to put them at the top of the stack.

  3. who_me

    Should we be concerned that contxts.com has absolutely no description of their terms of service or privacy policy anywhere on their website?




Leave a Reply

